Vice Presidents Of Nigeria: The FULL List From 1966

Last updated on July 22nd, 2019 at 7:34 pm

Who is the vice president of Nigeria? The current Vice President of Nigeria is Yemi Osinbajo. He is second-in-command to the President of Nigeria. He is officially known as Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The Vice President is elected alongside the President at the general national polls.

For any Nigerian to be eligible for the office of the Vice President, he or she is a citizen of the country by birth, be at least 40 years of age, and must be a member of a registered political party and has to be sponsored by that political party.

As part of his executive functions, the Nigerian vice president participates in all cabinet meetings and, by statute, is a member in the National Security Council, the National Defence Council, Federal Executive Council, and is the Chairman of National Economic Council.

Although the vice president may take an active role in setting up policy in the Executive by serving on such committees, the applicable power of the office of the Nigerian vice president depends on the duties assigned by the president.

Office Of The Vice President Of Nigeria Address

The Aguda House is the Vice Presidential Complex. But between the period of 1999 and 2007, the Vice President lived in a Residence which has now been converted to the Official Quarters for the Chief Justice of Nigeria.

And in 2010, construction of a new Vice Presidential Residence commenced. But up till date, that Residence has not been completed as Buhari claims it is not a priority.

So at the moment, the Presidential Complex – which is located in the Three Arms Zone of the Federal Capital Territory – consists of the Main Presidential Villa (Office and Residence of the President, and Offices of the Vice President and Wife of the President), the State House Conference Center, State House Annexe, and the Akinola Aguda House.

Official Address Of The Vice President Of Nigeria

Here is how to contact the vice president of Nigeria:

Office of the Vice President of the Federal Republic

Address: Aso Rock Villa, Asokoro, Abuja.

Phone: +234 9 2340011, 5231167, 5231777;

Fax: +234 9 5235277

You can also contact Osinbajo on Facebook

Please note that you won’t find a Yemi Osinbajo phone number anywhere online. The phone numbers above are official and are for the office of all the Vice Presidents of Nigeria; not personal to Osinbajo.

How To Address The Vice President Of Nigeria In A Letter

This template can help you write to the vice president of Nigeria.

[Your Address…VERY important]


Office of the Vice President of the Federal Republic

Nigeria Presidential Complex

Aso Rock Villa, Asokoro, Abuja

Dear Mr Vice President,

[1st paragraph states the reason for the letter and who you are]

[2nd paragraph gives reasons for your position and includes a personal needs account]

[3rd paragraph should summarize your message]

[Always thank a public official]


[your name]

[phone number]

[e-mail address]

Note: The [] areas symbolise the important components of your letter. Use them as a guideline for including your own thoughts and words.

Hope the above sample letter to the vice president of Nigeria is helpful?

List Of Vice Presidents Of Nigeria

Vice PresidentHead of State/PresidentInaugurationLeft Office
Babafemi Ogundipe (1924-1971)JTU Aguiyi-Ironsi16 January 196629 July 1966
Joseph Edet Akinwale Wey (1918-1991)Yakubu Gowon29 July 196629 July 1975
Olusegun Obasanjo (1937-)Murtala Muhammed29 July 197513 February 1976
Shehu Musa Yar’Adua (1943-1997)Olusegun Obasanjo13 February 197630 September 1979
Alex Ifeanyichukwu Ekwueme (1932-2017)Shehu Shagari1 October 197931 December 1983
Tunde Idiagbon (1943-1999)Muhammadu Buhari31 December 198327 August 1985
Ebitu Ukiwe (1940-)Ibrahim Babangida27 August 1985October 1986
Augustus Aikhomu (1939-2011)Ibrahim BabangidaOctober 198627 August 1993
Oladipo Diya (1944-)Sani Abacha17 November 199321 December 1997
Michael Akhigbe (1946-2013)Abdulsalami Abubakar9 June 199829 May 1999
Atiku Abubakar (1946-)Olusegun Obasanjo29 May 199929 May 2007
Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (1957-)Umaru Musa Yaradua29 May 20075 May 2010
Namadi Sambo (1954-)Goodluck Ebele Jonathan19 May 201029 May 2015
Yemi Osinbajo (1957-)Muhammadu Buhari29 May 2015

As you can see from the table above, there are currently five Vice Presidents of Nigeria – since the first Vice President of Nigeria was appointed after the first military coup on January 15, 1966 – who are still alive.

Most Recommended links:

Thanks for choosing to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that all comments are moderated according to our comment policy, and your email address will NOT be published. Please Do NOT use keywords in the name field. Let's have a personal and meaningful conversation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *